Skip to content

Lemon & Ginger muffins

by on April 18, 2010

My parents got me a bottle of ginger syrup from France some time ago (well, they originally bought me a bottle of peach liqueur, but my mom apparently had an unfortunate encounter with a step that left the whole street smelling like peach), and I’ve been looking for ways to use it. So, here it is: my very first recipe! Which I like, thought out beforehand, tested, adapted and then tested again (because I’m thorough and precise. Not because it meant delicious muffins two days in a row. Honest!)

I departed from Susanna Tee‘s standard recipe, though I adapted the quantities a bit. I went for just all-purpose flour, milk as a liquid, and granulated sugar for the muffins – though very light brown sugar (witte basterdsuiker) would probably work just as well – you don’t need much anyway, because the syrup and the topping already provide quite a bit of sweetness. The inspiration for the topping came from this cookie recipe: cane sugar, rubbed with lemon zest.

Ingredients (for 12 muffins)

280 g all-purpose flour

60 g granulated sugar

4 tsp baking powder

dash of salt

zest of 1 1/2 lemon (reserve the other 1/2 for the topping)

2 eggs

8 tbsp/ half a cup/ 120 ml milk

4 tbsp ginger syrup

4 tbsp lemon juice (+/- the juice of 1 lemon)

90 g butter, melted and cooled (that’s about 3/4 stick)

for topping: 50 g cane sugar, zest of 1/2 lemon

For the muffins, follow the standard procedure:  mix the dry ingredients, lightly beat the eggs in another bowl and add the liquid ingredients to it, then pour the liquid mixture into the bowl with the dry ingredients and mix briefly. The batter will be less fluid than for your average muffin, almost more like a dough – I meant these muffins to be quite cake-ey, and that’s how they turned out. This also means you can fill the muffins shapes more, almost to the edge. For the topping, rub the zest with the sugar using your fingers, and spread over the top of the muffins before putting them into the oven and baking them for 20 minutes at 200° C  (about 390 F). And if all goes right, you’ll end up with these delicious, lemony, gingery treats.

Next up: muffins based on the one sweet thing BF bakes, “kruidkoek”. I was going to try them today already, but my attempt to make candied orange peel failed quite spectacularly – I ended up with rock-hard caramelized orange peels instead, which weren’t NOT tasty, but not suited for baking either.

From → Baking

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

